Secondary Years

Our curriculum is structured according to the UK National Curriculum and comprises three main stages:


Key Stage 3

Key Stage 3

Grades 6 to 8
Learn More

Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4

Grades 9 and 10
Learn More

Key Stage 5

Key Stage 5

Grades 11 and 12
Learn More

Secondary Curriculum

RAK Academy has a long-standing academic reputation and tradition in the local and international community. We believe that education is a combination of both academic results and the development of personal, social, and emotional skills. Our secondary curriculum provides both breadth and depth, allowing students to develop confidence in their learning and to approach new challenges with resilience and confidence.
Group 621 JAI_3016 (1)
We draw upon the best elements of the English national Curriculum, influenced by the International Baccalaureate (IB), which can be studied by students in Grade 11 and Grade 12.
Our curriculum is is broad and balanced; we offer a growing focus on STEM subjects, whilst ensuring all students can pursue their creative interests through music, art, design-technology, and physical education.
The programmes of study for each subject are planned with explicit cross-curricular connections. Students are encouraged to make links between subject content and skills, with an emphasis placed upon highlighting explicit cross curricular connections with literacy and numeracy.
Central to our curriculum’s design is our focus upon the development of the skills students will need to become effective life-long learners. The identified skills are informed by the IB Learner Profile, to create our own adapted learner profiles bridging the British and International Curriculums.
To ensure students realise their potential, our curriculum is designed with suitability in mind. Through appropriate approaches to differentiation, we can ensure the accessibility of our curriculum irrespective of a student’s individual needs.
The aim of our curriculum is to develop the requisite understanding, knowledge, and skills for each student so that, when they leave RAK Academy, they are in a position to meet the challenges that they will face in a competitive world.
Group 622 JAI_2972-used

Key Stage 3

[Grade 6 to 8]

At this level, the curriculum is designed to give students a broard exposure to a wide variety of subjects to develop their knowledge, skills and understanding.
Group 621 DSC_7241

Overview of the KS3 Curriculum

In Grades 6 to 8 all students follow a similar curriculum (in terms of subjects and curriculum time), but variations occur based on whether students are classified as Arabic A/B; Islamic A/B or non-Muslim students.

In most subjects, our students are taught in mixed ability groups where we ensure all students’ needs are met and any obstacles to learning are tackled. All students study the core subjects of English, Mathematics, and Science. For these subjects, they are set in specific classes based on ability. All students undertake 33 lessons per week.

Key Stage 3 Subjects

Key Stage 4

[Grade 9 and 10]

At this level, the curriculum is designed to continue a broad subject focus for consolidation but with increasing elements of choice as well within the option blocks provided.

Group 621 DSC_7267

Overview of the KS4 Curriculum

Students in Key Stage 4 are undertaking a two-year iGCSE program which culminates in end of Grade 10 exams across a range of subjects. 

Al students are required to take the three core subjects while an increasingly broad range of options provide the opportunity to begin to develop specialization and focus on areas of growing interest in their learning journey. 

At this level, students take 9 iGCSE subjects overall.

All students complete the below iGCSE courses

(In addition to MOE courses)

Students must take at least one of the 3 sciences offered

but can take up to 3

To ensure a broad and balanced curriculum, students choose 5 option subjects

Key Stage 5

[Grade 11 & 12]

Key Stage 5, encompassing grades 11 and 12, offers students the choice between two distinct curriculum pathways at RAK Academy: A-Levels or the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program (IBDP).
Group 621 JAI_2931-used

Overview of the KS5 Curriculum

In Grades 11 and 12 students select from either a broad study through IBDP or a more focused set of subjects within the A-Levels program. These exam programs are crucial in preparing our graduating students for the widest possible choice of the best universities from around the world. 

A level students’are required to study at least 3 A Levels Subjects

(In addition to MOE courses)

Our team of subject specialist teachers ensure that our A Level students develop the skills, knowledge and understandings they need to be successful in their post-secondary futures.

IB Diploma Programme: Six Subject Requirement

these must be in alignment with IBDP subject groupings
All students are required to choose three Higher Level (HL) and three Standard Level (SL) subjects as part of their academic curriculum.

Core Components of the Diploma Programme for All Students

In addition to the IBDP subjects selected, all students also complete the below Core components of the Diploma Programme:

Additional Curriculum

In addition to the subjects studied at higher level (HL) and standard level (SL), students are required to complete:
Our IB students are supported and guided through the diploma programme which by its design, exposes them to real world scenarios that embed a sense of curiosity and critical thought.